International Certification in TA

Transactional Analysis has a well-defined process of training and certification that leads to qualification in each of the four fields of specialisation (counselling, education, organisational work, psychotherapy). Training can lead to:

• practitioner level certification in one of the fields (CTA)

• endorsement to teach and supervise practitioners in your field (PTSTA)

• qualification as a teacher and supervisor of practitioners in your field and also of
supervisors and trainers of TA. (TSTA)

Standards and requirements for training are developed and monitored for EATA (European Transactional Analysis Association) by the Professional Training and Standards Committee (PTSC), which incorporates the Commission of Certification(COC).  For the ITAA (International Transactional Analysis Association),  it is developed and monitored by the International Boards of Certification (IBOC) and the Professional Standards Committee PSC.

The newly established World Training and Certification Council will ensure that the various training bodies liase carefully to ensure that standards are maintained evenly throughout the world and that the training continues to reflect the developments in theoretical thinking and practice that takes place in different areas, countries and cultures.

The TA 101 course

The TA 101 course is the official introduction to Transactional Analysis. Its purpose is to provide consistent and accurate information about TA concepts.

The course is at least twelve hours long and is presented by a teaching (TSTA) or provisional teaching (PTSTA) Transactional Analyst or a CTA (Certified Transactional Analyst) who is endorsed as a TA 101 Instructor.

Students who participate in the whole course are awarded the TA 101 Certificate. Recipients of the TA 101 Certificate can apply for the appropriate category of membership in ITAA.

The basic knowledge of the TA 101 can also be acquired by independent study. The TA 101 Certificate is awarded on successful completion of the TA 101 Exam.

The World body for TA 101 Certifications is called Transactional Analysis World Council of Standards (TAWCS)

Click here for full course PDF

The CTA (Certified Transactional Analyst) qualification

This qualification involves the completion of 2000 hours of training in Transactional Analysis theory and practice in the chosen field (counselling, education, organisations or psychotherapy) offered by recognised trainers in that field. The examination is in two parts – the written case study is submitted and once this is passed, an oral examination is taken.

The hours of training are made up as follows:

• 300 hours of TA specific training with a PTSTA or TSTA in the chosen field

• 300 hours of additional professional training made up of lectures, conference attendance, discussion groups etc

• 500 hours of additional professional development

• 750 hours of client contact – at least 50 hours with groups and 50 hours with individuals

• 150 hours of supervision

• Personal therapy or continuing personal development as deemed appropriate – precise hours are not prescribed

The training would normally take about four years.

The Training Endorsement (for PTSTA status)

This is not an exam but a process of professional development whereby you develop the skills of teaching and supervising (through ‘workshops’, supervision, practice) and then partake in a three day event during which your skills are assessed and you are given individual coaching and feedback on your development needs.


This level of qualification as a trainer and supervisor of both practitioners and ‘learning trainers’ takes the form of a rigorous yet exciting examination process where you are assessed by a group of your peers. The exam normally follows several years of development as a PTSTA.

Examinations are normally held in conjunction with the conferences, which take place several times a year at different sites in different countries